Search Iowa Barnstormers


IFL Player Awards Announced

IFL Player Awards Announced
Barnstormers OL Peter Evans Earns Adam Pringle Award

DES MOINES – The Indoor Football League (IFL) has begun announcements of the 2016 Player Awards for outstanding achievements following the regular season. The first two awards announced are Most Improved Player and Adam Pringle Award.

The Iowa Barnstormers are proud to announce that Offensive Lineman Peter Evans is the recipient of the 2016 Adam Pringle Award. The Adam Pringle Award is granted to the player or coach who exemplified outstanding service and dedication to their surrounding community.

Evans (6-5, 300, Marist College) served as an ambassador for the Iowa Barnstormers “We’ve Got Your Back” Anti-Bullying Program, where he visited several schools and youth programs to encourage students to be inclusive and put an end to bullying. In addition, Evans sought out community involvement throughout the season and volunteered for every opportunity presented to the Barnstormers team.

“We’re very proud of Peter and many of our Barnstormers players who continually make a difference in the community.” said Barnstormers Vice President, John Pettit.

Evans involvement included youth reading programs, youth football camps, serving food to those in need, fundraising efforts for several local non-profit organizations, visiting the Children’s Cancer Connection and Passageway Clubhouse, and participating in a game of baseball at Kiwanis Miracle League. When Evans wasn’t volunteering with the Barnstormers, he would seek out opportunities to involve himself in the community on his own time including hanging out at the John and Mary Pappajohn Sculpture Park and encouraging people to play catch with him and his teammates.

For the full IFL release, please see below:

2016 IFL Individual Awards To Be Named Throughout Week

The Indoor Football League (IFL) is proud to announce the Most Improved Player and Adam Pringle Awards for the 2016 season. The rest of the 2016 IFL Individual Awards will be revealed throughout the week.

Most Improved Award: Markeith Summers (WR, Green Bay Blizzard)

Green Bay Blizzard WR Markeith Summers has been named the Most Improved Player of the 2016 season. A three-year IFL veteran, Summers became the go-to playmaker for the Blizzard this season as he led the IFL in touchdown receptions with 26.

Summers started his IFL career in 2014 with Blizzard amassing just 182 yards and two touchdowns in his rookie campaign. In 2015, Summers finished second on the team with 501 receiving yards and tied for the team lead with 10 touchdown receptions.

In 2016, Summers continued his growth and set numerous franchise records as he totaled 913 receiving yards and totaled an IFL league-best 26 touchdown receptions. Summers scored receiving touchdowns in each of his last nine games and scored multiple receiving touchdowns in seven of them. At the end of the season, Summers was named as a 2016 Second Team All-IFL Wide Receiver.

Adam Pringle Award: Peter Evans (OL, Iowa Barnstormers)

Iowa Barnstormers OL Peter Evans is the recipient of the 2016 Adam Pringle Award. The award, named after a very influential and highly respected member of the former West Michigan Thunderhawks, is given to the player or coach who exemplified outstanding service and dedication to their surrounding community.

Evans served as an ambassador for the Barnstormers “We’ve Got Your Back Anti-Bullying Program” where he shared his experiences with bullying and encouraged young students to be inclusive and put an end to bullying.

In addition, Evan volunteered at every community event for the Barnstormers this season seeking out community engagement with organizations such as Passageway, an organization that assists with mental illness and the Children’s Cancer Connection. He helped support and fundraise for foundations such as Scleroderma Foundation, the Food Bank of Iowa and various charity walks throughout the season.

The 2016 IFL playoffs continue this weekend as the Sioux Falls Storm host the Cedar Rapids Titans in the United Conference Championship on Saturday, July 16. The Spokane Empire will host the Intense Conference Championship as they welcome the Nebraska Danger on Sunday, July 17. The winner of each game will represent their conference in the 2016 United Bowl. All IFL playoff games can be seen live on


Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

December 2020
November 2020
October 2020
September 2020
August 2020
July 2020
June 2020
April 2020
March 2020
February 2020
January 2020
December 2019
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
July 2019
June 2019
May 2019
April 2019
March 2019
February 2019
January 2019
December 2018
November 2018
October 2018
September 2018
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
January 2018
December 2017
November 2017
October 2017
September 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
October 2016
September 2016
August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010